Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Applied Science - BTEC Level 3

Specific Course Entry Requirements

At least 6-6 in Combined Science, grade 5 in English and grade 5 in Maths

Examination Levels Offered

BTEC Level 3 National Certificate (equivalent to A-E at AS Level)

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate (equivalent to A*-E at

Examination Board Edexcel


The BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Applied Science is a two year course that helps students develop deep, specialist, practical skills and understanding, and offers a specialist qualification that focuses on particular aspects of employment within the Applied Science sector.  If students wish to take Applied Science for one year only, the course content comprises the two mandatory units only, gaining a BTEC Level 3 National Certificate.

Learners carry out a range of tasks that have been designed to recognise their achievements in a modern, practical way that is relevant to the workplace.

In Year 12 students will learn practical techniques used in industry and be assessed on their competency in the laboratory as well as their understanding of the scientific technique by a range of assignments, marked internally.  They will also learn fundamental scientific knowledge and understanding in the three disciplines of Biology, Chemistry and Physics which they will be examined on in the Summer term.

In Year 13 students will continue to develop their scientific skill repertoire and these will be assessed in externally set assessment tasks which are carried out over a 3 week period.  They will also study another unit where learners will produce evidence in a variety of different forms and including, written reports, graphs and posters, along with projects, practical observation and time-constrained assessments.

What does it cover?

To gain either qualification, you must achieve the first two mandatory units:

  • Unit 1- Principles of Applications of Science (examination)
  • Unit 2 - Practical Scientific Procedures and Techniques (internal assessment)

The Extended Certificate requires study of an additional two units:

  • Unit 3 - Scientific Investigation Skills (external assessment)
  • Unit 8 - Physiology of Human Body Systems (internal assessment)

For further information, the Unit 1 external examination will include aspects of Biology, Chemistry and Physics, to A-level standard, on separate 40 minute exam papers.  Each paper is 90 marks which will equate to 58% of the extended certificate.


Road Map




Staff Contact:
Mrs M Jones -