Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Multi-Academy Trust created in November 2013 and led by Howard of Effingham School, an outstanding school which is also a designated Academy Sponsor. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Curriculum Subjects

Please select a Key Stage from the box on the right for information about the courses on offer at Oxted School.

KEY STAGE 3 (Year 7, Year 8 and Year 9)

In Year 7, students follow a curriculum designed to bridge the gap between primary school and secondary school.

As part of the National Strategy for Learning Oxted School has adapted the curriculum to encompass the skills which we feel are an essential toolkit to enable every student to make progress and become ‘Powerful Learners’; being collaborative, courageous, creative, reflective, resilient and resourceful.

In Year 7 the majority of students will take two languages, but by Year 8 this will reduce to about half of the year group and by Year 9 only a few classes will study two languages. However there is a small number of students who do not do Languages in Year 7, this group of students will become larger during Key Stage 3.

In Year 9 students will be able to specialise in two of three Creative Arts subjects. (Art, Drama and Music)

The curriculum at Key Stage 3 is as follows:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Modern Foreign Languages - French, German or Spanish
  • Design and Food Technology
  • Computer Science
  • Physical Education
  • Art
  • Drama
  • Music
  • History
  • Geography
  • Religious Education

KEY STAGE 4 (Year 10 and Year 11)

In Year 9 students are supported through the process of selecting their options for Key Stage 4 ensuring students are well equipped to make informed decisions about their future learning routes.