Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Multi-Academy Trust created in November 2013 and led by Howard of Effingham School, an outstanding school which is also a designated Academy Sponsor. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Curriculum Overview

The curriculum is timetabled in a ten day cycle of 50, one hour lessons. The size of our school enables us to cover a wide range of courses and meet students’ individual needs and aptitudes more easily.


Teaching Group Arrangements

At Key Stage 3 there is ability setting in the linear subjects Mathematics and Modern Languages.  In Humanities (Geography, History and RE), Science and English the most able students are set together and in all other subjects there is mixed ability teaching; each population has two groups set by ability and four mixed groups.  At Key Stage 4, more curriculum areas in the core use setting, though there is no setting in the option subjects. Additional support is given to students by the Head of Inclusion, classroom assistants and support teachers.

Movement between groups is possible, frequent and determined by students’ progress. This is constantly monitored through continuous assessment, regular testing, end-of-year examinations and a diagnostic review of the progress of all students. 

Curriculum and Student Groupings for Key Stage 3 (Years 7 to 9)

On entry into the school at the age of 11+, students are divided into two mixed ability populations, known as population A and population B, of equal size and each representing the full ability range. In Years 7 to 9 (Key Stage 3), all students follow a broad and enhanced National Curriculum. 

In Year 7 the majority of students will take two languages, but by Year 8 this will reduce to about half of the year group and by Year 9 only a few classes will study two languages. However there is a small number of students who do not do Languages in Year 7, this group of students will become larger during Key Stage 3. 

Most subjects teach the Key Stage 3 curriculum up to the end of Year 9, though some such as Science, English and Mathematics will commence on the GCSE program of studies whilst in Year 9.  However, the distinction between Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4 curriculum will diminish over the coming years, with the change to a 9-1 assessment criteria throughout Years 7 to 11. 

Curriculum for Key Stage 4 (Year 10 and Year 11)

In Key Stage 4 of the National Curriculum, students will follow courses leading to GCSE or equivalent qualifications. In Year 9, students select their GCSE courses from a wide range of programmes. All students do the following: 

  • GCSE or equivalent English language and Literature
  • GCSE or equivalent Maths
  • GCSE Combined Science (worth two GCSEs) or GCSE Separate Science (worth 3 GCSEs)

In addition there are 22 GCSE or Level 2 equivalent options to choose from.