Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising four secondary, six primary and two special schools with two further under development. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Information Technology


BTEC in Digital Information Technology

Exam Board



The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Digital Information Technology (Qualification Number: 603/2740/6), is for learners who wish to acquire knowledge and technical skills through vocational contexts by studying the knowledge, understanding and skills related to data management, data interpretation, data presentation and data protection as part of their Key Stage 4 learning. This builds on the learning that has already taken place at Key Stage 3. The qualification recognises the value of learning skills, knowledge and vocational attributes to complement GCSEs. The qualification will broaden learners’ experience and understanding of the varied progression options available to them. 

The Level 2 Tech award in Digital Information Technology is separated into three components. Component 1 and 2 are coursework based, Component 3 is assessed by a written paper. 

Component 1 - Exploring User Interface Design Principles and Project Planning Techniques
Learners will develop their understanding of what makes an effective user interface and how to effectively manage a project. They will use this understanding to plan, design and create a user interface. 

Component 2 - Collecting, Presenting and Interpreting Data
Learners will understand the characteristics of data and information and how they help organisations in decision making. They will use data manipulation methods to create a dashboard to present and draw conclusions from information. 

Component 3 - Effective Digital Working Practices
Learners will explore how organisations use digital systems and the wider implications associated with their use. 

Students will be awarded a grade Level 2 Distinction* to Level 1 Pass based on the combined total of each of the three components.

  • Component 1 and 2 is assessed internally in the form of coursework
  • Component 3 is assessed by an external written exam  



Post-16 Choices
ICT as a subject opens many doors whether it be in industry or further education.  We offer the continuation of ICT and digital literacy skills through the Level 3 BTEC in Information Technology. The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC in Information Technology course is a mixture of both examination and coursework-based assessment. 

This qualification provides a broad and solid foundation for further study of various aspects of creative computing, such as graphic design, web design, computer games design and interactive media. It supports progress to further study, including: 

GCE in Media: Communication and Production, Level 3 BTEC in Creative Media Production and Level 3 Principal Learning in Creative and Media.

It also enhances young people’s overall digital literacy and gives them a solid foundation for further study and employment.



Staff Contact
Mr L Turner -