Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Key Stage 4 - Year 10

Please use the drop down menu to see the course content for each subject.


In Key Stage 4 of the National Curriculum, students will follow courses leading to GCSE or equivalent qualifications. In Year 8, students select their GCSE courses from a wide range of programmes. All students do the following:

  • GCSE or equivalent English language and Literature
  • GCSE or equivalent Maths
  • GCSE Combined Science (worth two GCSEs)

In addition there are 22 GCSE or Level 2 equivalent options to choose from.

For the majority of students most follow courses leading to GCSE qualification while others also study vocational courses with their GCSEs. Over 50% of students follow a combination of courses that reflect the English Baccalaureate (Ebacc)*. This is not a qualification, it is the achievement of this set of GCSE qualifications (English, Maths, two Science, one MFL subject and one Humanities subject) that represents success in a traditional academic curriculum and for all those who are able, this is the pathway we recommend our students to take.

The vast majority of these students will take 10 subjects at KS4, but some students will take 11 subjects, if they choose to take Separate Sciences. For those not following the Ebacc route, some will take more vocational subjects (Level 2) and have Curriculum Studies lessons. This provides teacher support for students to complete homework, improve coursework or revise for any of their subjects. A small minority of those students on the non-Ebacc pathway will be selected to receive additional English and Maths support as an option.